Developmental eras in older adulthood is defined most often, as older adults - the elderly persons, golden-agers, senior citizens or "the old" are treated as if they were a single developmental cohort . However, recently, some writers have begun to make distinctions in older adulthood between the "young old (those from 65 to 74 years of age), the "old old" (those 75 - 84 years of age), and the "oldest old" or "very old" (those 85 years of age and older), even though these are properly chronological rather than developmental distinctions

Related Articles

Older adulthood at■■■■■■
Older adulthood refers to an era in the human life course that follows "middle adulthood" or "middle . . . Read More
Adult at■■■■
Adult: ; An adult is typically an individual who have reached the age of majority, which is typically . . . Read More
Late adulthood at■■■■
Late adulthood is an alternative phrase for "Older adulthood"; - - In psychology, late adulthood is . . . Read More
Cooperative Play at■■■
Cooperative Play refers to a play where the players (children and/or adults) plan, assign roles and play . . . Read More
Entering the adult world at■■■
Entering the adult world: entering the adult world refers to a stage in the novice phase of early adulthood, . . . Read More
Formal Operational Stage (11 - 15 years) (Piaget) at■■■
- Formal Operational Stage (11 - 15 years) (Piaget) : Formal Operational Stage refers to the 3rd of the . . . Read More
Cohort sequential study at■■■
- Cohort sequential study : Cohort sequential study refers to a research design that combines cross-sectional . . . Read More
Ageism at■■■
Ageism refers to a prejudicial view of older adults that characterizes them in negative ways. - -- Other . . . Read More
Hydrocele at■■■
Hydrocele refers to a condition in which there is an excessive accumulation of fluid within the tissue . . . Read More
Community-Based Services at■■■
Community-Based Services refer to services designed to help older people remain independent and in their . . . Read More