Phases in mourning describes mourning as a series of phases; the Bowlby/ Parkes model proposed four phases (shock and numbness; yearning and searching; disorganization and despair; reorganization); other writers have proposed three phases (shock, a period of intense or active grieving, and reestablishment of physical and mental balance, in one version; avoidance, confrontation , and accommodation, in another version) or a larger number of phases. It is one of the interpretations or theories of mourning.

Related Articles

Processes in mourning at■■■■
Processes in mourning describes mourning as involving processes; the Dual process model proposed by Stroebe . . . Read More
Traumatic losses at■■■■
Traumatic losses refer to losses and deaths that include objective elements such as suddenness and lack . . . Read More
Tasks in mourning at■■■■
Tasks in mourning describes mourning as involving a series of tasks; Worden suggested four (4) tasks: . . . Read More
Level at■■■
Level refers to the degree of behavior change with different interventions (for example, high or low); . . . Read More
Prodromal phase at■■■
Prodromal phase may refer to the following: 1. The tingling or burning feeling that precedes the development . . . Read More
Stage at■■■
In the field of psychology, the term "stage" can refer to a specific period or phase in the development . . . Read More
Plateau at■■■
Plateau refers to a phase in the Sexual response cycle, period between arousal and orgasm, during which . . . Read More
Developmental stage at■■■
Developmental stage refers to a distinct phase within a larger sequence of development ; a period characterized . . . Read More
Scooter at■■■
Scooter is a mobility device for users who have some ability to walk, but are limited in distance or . . . Read More
Sexual response at■■■
Sexual response refer to the series of physiological and psychological changes that occur in the body . . . Read More