- Piaget's Theory of cognitive development :

Piaget's Theory of Cognitive development refers to the perspective proposed by Jean Piaget (1896 to 1980) that thinking develops in a sequence of stages. Piaget believed that children naturally try to make sense of their world, both the physical and social world from infancy, adolescence and beyond.

According to Piaget, there are four (4) stages in Cognitive development: 1. Sensorimotor stage from birth to 2 years, when an infant's knowledge of the world is based on senses and motor skills and mental resentation is use by the end of the period. 2. Pre-operational stage from 2 to 6 years, when the child learns how to use symbols as words and numbers to represent aspects of the world, but relates to the world only through his/her perspective. 3. Concrete-operational stage from 7 years to early adolescence, when child undersatnds and applies logical operations to experiences provided they are focused on the here and now. 4. Formal operational stage from adolescence and beyod, a period when adolescent or adult thinks absractly: deals with hypothetical situations; and speculates about waht may be possible

Related Articles

Assimilation at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Assimilation refers to the process by which new objects, events, experiences, or information are incorporated . . . Read More
Parenting at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Parenting is defined as the implementation of a series of decisions about the socialization of children. . . . Read More
Preoperation at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Preoperational thinking is a term used in developmental psychology to describe the cognitive stage that . . . Read More
Toddlerhood at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Toddlerhood in the psychology context refers to a developmental stage that typically ranges from about . . . Read More
Childhood disintegrative disorder at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
childhood disintegrative disorder refers to pervasive developmental disorder involving severe regression . . . Read More
Child at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Child refers to a person undergoing the period of development from infancy through puberty. Other /More . . . Read More
Preoperational Period at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Preoperational Period refers to the second stage in Piaget’s theory of Cognitive development applying . . . Read More
Initiative vs. guilty at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Initiative vs. guilty: In the psychology context, "Initiative vs. Guilt" is the third stage of Erik Erikson's . . . Read More
Piaget, Jean at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
Piaget, Jean: Jean Piaget was born in 1896 at Neuchatel, Switzerland and died in 1980 at Geneva, Switzerland. . . . Read More
Object permanence at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
Object permanence is a concept, gained in infancy, that objects continue to exist even when they are . . . Read More