Erik Erikson (1902-1994) was born in Frankfurt, Germany and studied Psychology under Anna Freud (Sigmund Freud's daughter) at the Vienna Psychoanalytic Institute. He moved to the United States and became a U.S. citizen in 1939 where he taught at several major universities including Harvard, Yale, and the University of California at Berkley.

Some of his major works are: Childhood and Society (1950), Insight and Responsibility (1964) Identity, Youth, and Crisis (1968) Erikson, a student of Sigmund and Anna Freud, developed a Psychosocial stage theory of development. He is most well known for his writings on child psychology. He developed a stage theory much like Sigmund Freud's Stages of Psychosexual development, but rather than sexual impulses, Erikson was concerned more with the social aspects of development. He developed his theory of Psychosocial Development where he divides the human lifespan into eight stages. Through his theories, the term 'identity crisis ' was derived, as he saw each stage as having both a negative or a positive outcome, constituting a crisis at each stage of development.

Related Articles

James, William at■■■■■■■
James, William: William James (1842 1910), most famous for his work a book named Principles of Psychology, . . . Read More
Carl Jung at■■■■■■
Carl Jung (1875 1961) was trained as a psychiatrist after receiving his MD. from Basel University He . . . Read More
Psychic determinism at■■■■■■
Psychic determinism refers to a major assumption of Freudian Theory that holds that everything one does . . . Read More
Granville Stanley Hall at■■■■■■
Granville Stanley Hall (1844 1924) the creator of the first US. Experimental psychology laboratory, founded . . . Read More
Williard W. Hartup at■■■■■■
Williard W. Hartup Born: 1927 Fremont, Ohio Current: Regents Professor at the Institute of Child Development, . . . Read More
Sandra Wood Scarr at■■■■■■
Sandra Wood Scarr Born: 1936 Washington, DCCurrent: CEO and Chairman of the Board of Directors, Kinder . . . Read More
Albert Ellis at■■■■■
Albert Ellis (1913-2007) Ellis, a cognitive psychologist, developed Rational Emotive Behavioral Therapy . . . Read More
Initiative Vs Guilt at■■■■
Initiative Vs Guilt: Initiative vs. Guilt is a stage in Erik Erikson's theory of psychosocial development, . . . Read More
Basic strengths at■■■■
Basic strengths is a term which according to Erikson is the motivating characteristics and beliefs that . . . Read More
Frankfurt am Main at■■■■
Frankfurt am Main is a major city in GermanyThis city . . . Read More