- Formal Operational Stage (11 - 15 years) (Piaget) : Formal Operational Stage refers to the 3rd of the four (4) stages Piaget uses to define cognitive development. It begins at approximately 11 to 12 years of age, and continues throughout adulthood.
The formal operational stage is characterized by the ability to formulate hypotheses and systematically test them to arrive at an answer to a problem; thought becomes more abstract, incorporating the principles of formal logic, the ability to generate abstract propositions, multiple hypotheses and their possible outcomes is evident; thinking becomes less tied to concrete reality; prepositional logic, as-if and if-then steps; and use aids such as axioms to transcend human limits on comprehension.

Related Articles

Concrete Operational Stage at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■■■■
Concrete Operational Stage: The Concrete Operational Stage (7 - 11 years) (Piaget) refers to the 3rd . . . Read More
Preoperation at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
Preoperational thinking is a term used in developmental psychology to describe the cognitive stage that . . . Read More
Creativity at psychology-glossary.com■■■■
Creativity is defined as the ability to generate novel solutions to problems. A trait characterized by . . . Read More
Competitive Anxiety at psychology-glossary.com■■■■
Competitive Anxiety: Competition can cause athletes to react both physically (somatic) and mentally (cognitive) . . . Read More
Preoperational Period at psychology-glossary.com■■■■
Preoperational Period refers to the second stage in Piaget’s theory of Cognitive development applying . . . Read More
Propositional logic at psychology-glossary.com■■■
Propositional logic is a form of symbolic logic that involves two (2) or more factors, conventionally, . . . Read More
Object permanence at psychology-glossary.com■■■
Object permanence is a concept, gained in infancy, that objects continue to exist even when they are . . . Read More
Pictorial stage at psychology-glossary.com■■■
Pictorial stage refers to a stage in drawing attained between ages 4 and 5 in which designs begin to . . . Read More
Modernism at psychology-glossary.com■■
Modernism refers to the belief that improvement in the human condition can come about only by understanding . . . Read More
Postmodernism at psychology-glossary.com■■
Postmodernism refers to a philosophical position that does not assume that there is a fixed truth, but . . . Read More