- Pre Operational Stage (2 - 7 years) (Piaget) : Pre Operational Stage refers to the 2nd of the four (4) stages Piaget uses to define cognitive development. This stage is divided into: (1) Preoperational Phase (2-4 years) when the child increases the use of verbal representation but speech is egocentric; its the beginnings of symbolic rather than simple motor play; transductive reasoning when a child can think about something without the object being present by use of language; and (2) Intuitive Phase
(4-7 years) when child's speech becomes more social, less egocentric; the child has an intuitive grasp of logical concepts in some areas, however, there is still a tendency to focus attention on one aspect of an object while ignoring others; concepts formed are crude and irreversible; easy to believe in magical increase, decrease, disappearance; reality not firm; perceptions dominate judgment; and in moral-ethical realm, the child is not able to show principles underlying best behavior.

Related Articles

Preoperation at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■■■■
Preoperational thinking is a term used in developmental psychology to describe the cognitive stage that . . . Read More
Representational Play at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Representational Play refers to pretend play which emerges when a child begins to use familiar objects . . . Read More
Junction at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
In the context of psychology, junction refers to the intersection of multiple cognitive processes or . . . Read More
Sensory Motor Stage (0 - 24 months) (Piaget) at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Sensory Motor Stage (0 24 months) (Piaget) : Sensory Motor Stage (0 24 months) refers to the first of . . . Read More
Formal Operational Stage (11 - 15 years) (Piaget) at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
Formal Operational Stage (11 15 years) (Piaget) : Formal Operational Stage refers to the 3rd of the four . . . Read More
Object permanence at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
Object permanence is a concept, gained in infancy, that objects continue to exist even when they are . . . Read More
Excitability at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
Excitability in psychology refers to an individual's propensity to react with heightened responsiveness . . . Read More
Readability at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
In the realm of psychology, "readability" pertains to the ease with which written or verbal information . . . Read More
Tuition at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
In psychology, "tuition" refers to the process of learning and instruction, particularly in an educational . . . Read More
B-perception at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
B-perception, a term frequently used in psychology, plays a fundamental role in our cognitive processes . . . Read More