Abraham Maslow (1908 - 1970) was a Humanistic psychologist who emphasized the innate human tendency toward self -actualization.

Maslow contended that behaviorism and psychoanalysis provided only a partial understanding of human existence and that humanistic, or third-force, psychology needed to be added to complete human's understanding.

Abraham Maslow was an American psychologist born in Brooklyn, NY. He taught at several universities in the New York area and perhaps best known for his belief in Humanistic Psychology.

His Hierarchy of Needs has been applied to many professional fields outside of psychology, including sociology, business, medicine, and others. The Hierarchy is a set of five stages that each individual passes through in his or her search for Self-Actualization. He believed that we are driven to understand and accept ourselves as fully as possible, and are motivated to this end. He also stated that nobody ever reaches the top of the pyramid and the goal should be getting as close as possible rather than achieving the top of the hierarchy. As we progress through life, we are presented with obstacles that cause us to either grow or slip backward. After which we can choose to either learn from the event and continue climbing or give up. Despite the challenges of life, most people choose to continue their climb.

List of books: Abraham,Maslow

Related Articles

Kenneth B. Clark at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■■
Kenneth B. Clark: Kenneth B. Clark, an African-American social psychologist, was born in 1914. He attended . . . Read More
Albert Ellis at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■■
Albert Ellis: Albert Ellis (1913-2007) - Ellis, a cognitive psychologist, developed Rational Emotive . . . Read More
Hierarchy at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■
Hierarchy: Hierarchy is defined as a rank-ordered series of higher and lower amounts, levels, degrees, . . . Read More
Positive Psychology at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■
Positive Psychology: Positive Psychology is defined as the study of human strengths, virtues, and effective . . . Read More
Granville Stanley Hall at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■
Granville Stanley Hall: Granville Stanley Hall (1844 - 1924) the creator of the first US. Experimental . . . Read More
Hans Eysenck at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■
Hans Eysenck: Hans Eysenck (1916-1997) is probably best known as a Controversialist. Eysenck has received . . . Read More
Margaret F. Washburn at psychology-glossary.com■■■■■
Margaret F. Washburn: Margaret F. Washburn, the first woman to earn her PhD. in psychology, graduated . . . Read More
Uberwelt at psychology-glossary.com■■■■
Uberwelt: Uberwelt (Überwelt) refer to religious or spiritual beliefs about the ideal world, the way . . . Read More
Behaviorism at psychology-glossary.com■■■■
Behaviorism: Behaviorism refers to a school of psychology which maintains that to understand human behavior, . . . Read More
Mary Whiton Calkins at psychology-glossary.com■■■■
Mary Whiton Calkins: Mary Whiton Calkins was born in 1863. She was not allowed to receive her PhD. because . . . Read More